Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Yes, yes, yes! I’m reviewing a book! By J. K. Rowling, everyone’s favorite author. Well, okay, sort of…not really.

Alright! Fantastic Beast and Where to Find Them (FBWTFT) is a great book. It’s a screenplay, which means it’s written in the form of a movie or play script. It’s a bit weird at first, but soon you get it: italics is the narration (kinda) and when names are capitalized that’s who’s talking. It’s really cool, and it helps you really imagine the scene.

The characters (Newt, Jacob, Tina, Queenie (main) )are really awesome and well developed. They each have an obvious personality and you can tell when they will be scared or brave, and they surprise you as well! They are super interesting and a lot of them say funny stuff and are really compassionate, they can also be overtaken by peer pressure.

The plot is a bit confusing at first, I have to say. FBWTFT has two plots, sort of.  The first one is finding the beast which escape, hence the name. The animals are super weird and creatively created 🙂 . Mrs. Rowling did a great job with them, I think, and there are loosely drawn pictures (if you get me 😉 ) of the animals. The second plot is stopping the Obscurous. I think that’s how you spell it, ha. Since I haven’t finished the Harry Potter series it was a bit confusing, though, but I was able to understand it; Big black mass that gets into people and takes them over…that’s my take on the whole Obscurous.

My overall thought on FBWTFT is positive. I suggest the book for ages 10+, maybe a bit older because of the hard-to-follow-plot and content. Two or three times there is usage of “what the h—“. Other than that it is clean, except for some flirting and Queenie wearing a slip. I think the book is good and well written. Great job, J. K. Rowling.

I also began To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I’m very excited, I’m pretty sure it has some weighty concepts. Other than it having a bad word in the first few pages (ughh) it seems good!

Hope you enjoyed!

seeyarachel

5 thoughts on “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

  1. I love the movie! I haven’t actually gotten a copy of the screenplay yet, but I hope to! But I have the copy of FBWTFT that is meant to look like the actual textbook the Newt wrote and was owned9and scribbled in) by Harry! ~Julia ❤

    Like

Reply

